File MS-2-26, Box 4, Folder 17 - Research and program notes pertaining to Canadian composers

Title and statement of responsibility area

Title proper

Research and program notes pertaining to Canadian composers

General material designation

  • Textual record

Parallel title

Other title information

Title statements of responsibility

Title notes

Level of description


Reference code

MS-2-26, Box 4, Folder 17

Edition area

Edition statement

Edition statement of responsibility

Class of material specific details area

Statement of scale (cartographic)

Statement of projection (cartographic)

Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

Statement of scale (architectural)

Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

Dates of creation area


  • 1979-2002 (Creation)

Physical description area

Physical description

1.5 cm of textual records. - 7 programs.

Publisher's series area

Title proper of publisher's series

Parallel titles of publisher's series

Other title information of publisher's series

Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

Numbering within publisher's series

Note on publisher's series

Archival description area

Name of creator

([19--] - 2012)

Custodial history

Scope and content

File contains drafts of program notes by Anthony Pugh and research material pertaining works by the following composers: Violet Archer, Wolfgang Bottenberg, Derek Healey, Francis Chaplin, Irving Glick, Jacques Hetu, Bruce Mather, Rodolphe Mathieu, Roger Matton, Pierre Mercure, Michael Miller, Francois Morel, Oskar Morawetz, Clermont Pepin, Andre Prevost, Godfrey Ridout, R. Murray Schafer, Robert Turner, Richard Gibson, Ann Southam, Healey Willan, F.R.C. Clarke, Alasdair MacLean, and Janis Kalnins. The file also includes programs from concerts at the University of New Brunswick (UNB) and Christ Church Cathedral in Fredericton, and correspondence sent to the board members for the Summer Chamber Music Festival at UNB.

Notes area

Physical condition

Immediate source of acquisition


Language of material

  • English

Script of material

Location of originals

Availability of other formats

Restrictions on access

Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication

Finding aids

Associated materials

The annotated score of Sonata for Solo Cello, 3rd movement by Violet Archer (MS-2-26, Box 4, Folder 20) was originally included in this file. Also seethe following scores, annotated by Anthony Pugh: Quatuor à cordes No. 2, op. 50 by Jacques Hétu (MS-2-26, Box 6, Folder 23); Alasdair MacLean's String Quartet No. 2 (MS-2-26, Box 6, Folder 32); Trois préludes by Rodolphe Mathieu (MS-2-26, Box 7, Folder 1); Three Sonnets for Piano by Harry Somers (MS-2-26, Box 8, Folder 3); and Introduction and Allegro for String Quartet by Healey Willan (MS-2-26, Box 8, Folder 8).

Related materials


Alternative identifier(s)

Standard number area

Standard number

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Control area

Description record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules or conventions


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion

Language of description

Script of description


Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related genres

Physical Location

  • Box: MS-2-26, Box 4