File MS-2-26, Box 1, Folder 11 - Research and program notes pertaining to Beethoven

Title and statement of responsibility area

Title proper

Research and program notes pertaining to Beethoven

General material designation

  • Textual record

Parallel title

Other title information

Title statements of responsibility

Title notes

Level of description


Reference code

MS-2-26, Box 1, Folder 11

Edition area

Edition statement

Edition statement of responsibility

Class of material specific details area

Statement of scale (cartographic)

Statement of projection (cartographic)

Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

Statement of scale (architectural)

Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

Dates of creation area


  • 1953-2001 (Creation)

Physical description area

Physical description

2 cm of textual records

Publisher's series area

Title proper of publisher's series

Parallel titles of publisher's series

Other title information of publisher's series

Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

Numbering within publisher's series

Note on publisher's series

Archival description area

Name of creator

([19--] - 2012)

Custodial history

Scope and content

File contains drafts of program notes and research notes for concerts containing works by Ludwig van Beethoven, including piano sonatas, symphonies, concertos, string quartets, piano trios, and overtures. Most of the program notes were written while Anthony Pugh was in Fredericton, New Brunswick, with the exception of those for Beethoven's Quartet in F major, op. 59 no. 1, which were written while he was at Pembroke College in Cambridge, England, and which include handwritten analytic excerpts from the quartet, written by Pugh. The file also includes Anthony Pugh's analysis of Beethoven's Piano Sonata in C minor, op. 111, for which he also wrote program notes, and programs (with notes by Anthony Pugh) for performances by the Atlantic Symphony Orchestra and Anton Kuerti (presented by the Creative Arts Committee of the Universities of New Brunswick and Saint Thomas). The file also includes extensive handwritten notes by Pugh on Beethoven's Fidelio and an analysis of one of its recitatives and duets by "Mark," which was sent to Pugh from Seaford, East Sussex, England.

Notes area

Physical condition

Immediate source of acquisition


Language of material

  • English

Script of material

Location of originals

Availability of other formats

Restrictions on access

Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication

Finding aids

Associated materials

Related materials


Alternative identifier(s)

Standard number area

Standard number

Access points

Subject access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Control area

Institution identifier

Rules or conventions


Level of detail

Language of description

Script of description


Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related genres