File MS-2-26, Box 4, Folder 6 - Research and program notes for composers S

Title and statement of responsibility area

Title proper

Research and program notes for composers S

General material designation

  • Textual record

Parallel title

Other title information

Title statements of responsibility

Title notes

Level of description


Reference code

MS-2-26, Box 4, Folder 6

Edition area

Edition statement

Edition statement of responsibility

Class of material specific details area

Statement of scale (cartographic)

Statement of projection (cartographic)

Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

Statement of scale (architectural)

Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

Dates of creation area


  • 1949-1998 (Creation)

Physical description area

Physical description

20 pages of textual records. - 4 programs.

Publisher's series area

Title proper of publisher's series

Parallel titles of publisher's series

Other title information of publisher's series

Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

Numbering within publisher's series

Note on publisher's series

Archival description area

Name of creator

([19--] - 2012)

Custodial history

Scope and content

File contains drafts of program notes by Anthony Pugh pertaining to works by the following composers: Arnold Schonberg, Jan Pieterszn Sweelinck, Alexander Scriabin, Bedřich Smetana, Johann Strauss, and Franz von Suppé. The file also contains two programs from the Liverpool Philharmonic Society and one from the Maine Center for the Arts, used in Pugh's research; and a complete program for a concert by Duo New Brunswick at the University of New Brunswick, with program notes by Anthony Pugh.

Notes area

Physical condition

Immediate source of acquisition


Language of material

  • English

Script of material

Location of originals

Availability of other formats

Restrictions on access

Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication

Finding aids

Associated materials

See MS-2-26, Box 4, Folder 19 for an annotated score of "Variationen: 'Mein junges Leben hat ein End'" by Jan Pieterszn Sweelinck, which was originally included in this file. Also see Anthony Pugh's annotated scores of Arnold Schoenberg's "Pierrot Lunaire," (MS-2-26, Box 7, Folder 18) and Alexander Scriabin's fifth piano sonata (MS-2-26, Box 7, Folder 21).

Related materials


Alternative identifier(s)

Standard number area

Standard number

Access points

Subject access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Control area

Institution identifier

Rules or conventions


Level of detail

Language of description

Script of description


Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related genres