File MS-2-26, Box 1, Folder 1 - Research and program notes for composers A to C

Title and statement of responsibility area

Title proper

Research and program notes for composers A to C

General material designation

  • Textual record

Parallel title

Other title information

Title statements of responsibility

Title notes

Level of description


Reference code

MS-2-26, Box 1, Folder 1

Edition area

Edition statement

Edition statement of responsibility

Class of material specific details area

Statement of scale (cartographic)

Statement of projection (cartographic)

Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

Statement of scale (architectural)

Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

Dates of creation area


  • 1982-1995 (Creation)
    Most of the program notes are not dated. These dates are from the magazine and newspaper articles included in the file.

Physical description area

Physical description

28 pages of textual records

Publisher's series area

Title proper of publisher's series

Parallel titles of publisher's series

Other title information of publisher's series

Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

Numbering within publisher's series

Note on publisher's series

Archival description area

Name of creator

([19--] - 2012)

Custodial history

Scope and content

File contains drafts of program notes pertaining to the following composers: Hugo Alfvén, Juan Crisostomo de Arriaga, Benjamin Britten, Bela Bartok, Aaron Copland, Ernest Chausson, Arcangelo Corelli, and Jean Coulthard. The file also includes a copy of a newspaper article on Carl Czerny and a copy of a magazine article on Charles-Valentin Alkan (both used in Pugh's research).

Notes area

Physical condition

Immediate source of acquisition


Language of material

  • English

Script of material

Location of originals

Availability of other formats

Restrictions on access

Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication

Finding aids

Associated materials

Also see the following annotated scores: "Fanfare for the Common Man" by Aaron Copland (Box 6, Folder 12); and Concerto grosso in G minor, Op. 6, no. 8 by Arcangelo Corelli (Box 6, Folder 13).

Related materials


Alternative identifier(s)

Standard number area

Standard number

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Control area

Description record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules or conventions


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion

Language of description

Script of description


Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related places

Related genres

Physical Location

  • Box: MS-2-26, Box 1