Dalhousie University. Faculty of Medicine. Department of Anaesthesia.

Identity area

Type of entity

Corporate body (Dalhousie University)

Authorized form of name

Dalhousie University. Faculty of Medicine. Department of Anaesthesia.

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence



The first reference to the Department of Anaesthesia in the Dalhousie University calendars is in 1953-1954. At this point is consisted of C.C. Stoddard (professor); Roberta B. Nichols, C.H.L. Baker, R.W.M. Ballem, and C.M. Kincaide (assistant professors); C. Gordon MacKinnon (lecturer); and D.V. Graham, R.A.P. Fleming, and A.S. MacIntosh (demonstrators). A head of the department is not indicated. The Department of Anaesthesia is now called the Department of Anaesthesia, Pain Management, and Perioperative Medicine.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Related entity

Dalhousie University. Faculty of Medicine (1868-)

Identifier of related entity

Category of relationship


Dates of relationship


Description of relationship

The Department of Anaesthesia was added to the Faculty of Medicine in 1953.

Access points area

Subject access points

Place access points


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC

Related subjects

Related places