Item MS-5-2, Box 7, Folder 7 - The willows are new (after Wang Wei's Yang Kuan) : piano solo

Title and statement of responsibility area

Title proper

The willows are new (after Wang Wei's Yang Kuan) : piano solo

General material designation

  • Textual record

Parallel title

Other title information

Title statements of responsibility

Chou Wen-Chung

Title notes

Level of description


Reference code

MS-5-2, Box 7, Folder 7

Edition area

Edition statement

Edition statement of responsibility

Class of material specific details area

Statement of scale (cartographic)

Statement of projection (cartographic)

Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

Statement of scale (architectural)

Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

Dates of creation area


  • 1960 (Distribution)
    New York (N.Y.)
    Sent to Ellen Ballon by the music publishers, C.F. Peters Corporation
  • 1957 (Creation)
    Chou Wen-Chung
    New York (N.Y.)

Physical description area

Physical description

1 part (5 p.) ; 37 x 29 cm

Publisher's series area

Title proper of publisher's series

Parallel titles of publisher's series

Other title information of publisher's series

Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

Numbering within publisher's series

Note on publisher's series

Archival description area

Name of creator


Biographical history

Chou Wen-Chung was born in Yantai, China in 1923 and immigrated to the United States in 1946. In 1949, he was introduced to Edgard Varèse and became his student and assistant during the last years of Varèse's life. Chou completed his graduate work in composition at Columbia University under Otto Luening (1952-1954) and later taught at the university (1964-1991), becoming the head of the composition program in 1969. He established the Fritz Reiner Center for Contemporary Music at Columbia in 1984 and converted Columbia's Electronic Music Center to the Computer Music Center. He also established ties between Columbia University and East and Southeast Asia with the United States-China Arts Exchange, which enabled various programs, including the Pacific Music Festival and the Pacific Composers Conference in Sapporo, Japan.

Custodial history

Scope and content

Item is a photostat copy of Chou Wen-Chung's composition, based on "Yang Kuan," a composition for ch'in attributed to Wang Wei (689-759). The work for solo piano was sent to Ellen Ballon by the New York publishers, C.F. Peters, with an accompanying letter that indicated that the composition was undergoing publication.

Notes area

Physical condition

Immediate source of acquisition


Language of material

  • English

Script of material

Location of originals

Availability of other formats

Restrictions on access

Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication

Finding aids

Associated materials

Related materials


Alternative identifier(s)

Standard number area

Standard number

Access points

Subject access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Control area

Description record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules or conventions


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion

Language of description

Script of description


Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related genres

Physical Location

  • Box: MS-5-2, Box 7