

# International Centre for Ocean Development Centre international d'exploitation des océans

CONFIDENTIAL

7007

Approved November 1987

#### COUNTRY ELIGIBILITY

ICOD proposes to categorize developing countries in its four areas of concentration as:

a) Target Countries;

b) Countries of Secondary Focus; and

c) Ineligible.

Target Countries are eligible to participate in regional and global projects and are the main focus of bilateral projects. Countries of Secondary Focus are eligible to participate in regional and global projects, but are not normally involved in bilateral projects. Countries in the ineligible category would not normally participate in any ICOD projects, although limited participation in regional or global projects could be considered on a cost recovery basis or in special circumstances.

The following is a list of countries by category in the four areas of concentration:

#### 1. South Pacific

#### A. <u>Target Countries</u>

All South Pacific Forum countries excluding Australia New Zealand, and Nauru\*

i.e. Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, Western Samoa.

\* Nauru would not receive direct bilateral assistance because of its high per capita income.

.../2



## B. <u>Ineliqible</u>

Colonial Possessions (i.e. American Samoa, Guam, French Polynesia, New Caledonia)

#### 2. Caribbean

## A. 1) Target Countries

- Central American States: Costa Rica, Nicaragua
- Commonwealth Countries:
  O.E.C.S. countries (independent): Grenada,
  St. Vincent and The Grenadines, St. Lucia,
  Dominica, Antigua and Barbuda, St. Kitts and
  Nevis
  Barbados
  Jamaica
  Guyana
  Belize

## 2) <u>Secondary Focus</u>

- Commonwealth: Trinidad and Tobago.
- Commonwealth non-independent states: British Virgin Islands, Montserrat, Anguilla.
- Haiti and Dominican Republic

#### B. <u>Ineliqible</u>

- Central American States: Guatemala, Honduras, Panama.
- South American States (excluding Guyana)
- Cuba
- Colonies: French, Dutch, U.S.
- Bahamas



## 3. South and West Indian Ocean

### A. 1) Target Countries

 Island States: Sri Lanka, Maldives, Seychelles, Mauritius, Comoros, Madagascar.

## 2) Secondary Focus

- East African Coastal States: Mozambique, Tanzania, Kenya, Somalia.

- Gulf of Aden States: Djibouti, Yemen Arab Republic.

## B. <u>Ineliqible</u>

- Asian States: Burma, Bangladesh, India, Pakistan.

- Arab States: Oman, Democratic Yemen

- Ethiopia

## 4. West Africa

## A. 1) Target Countries

Francophone Coastal Countries: Morocco,
 Mauritania, Senegal, Guinea, Ivory Coast,
 Togo, Benin, Cameroon, Congo.

 Island States: Sao Tome and Principe, Cape Verde Islands.

## 2) Secondary Focus

- Gambia, Sierra Leone, Liberia, Ghana, Nigeria
- Guinea-Bissau
- Equatorial Guinea
- Gabon

## B. <u>Ineligible</u>

- Zaire, Angola, Namibia, South Africa.



Eligibility will be reviewed from time to time based on ICOD experience. It should be assumed that all states not specifically mentioned above would be in the ineligible category.



# International Centre for Ocean Development Centre international d'exploitation des océans

#### CONFIDENTIAL

7007

- Approved by Board November 1987
- Editorial Changes July 1988

#### LIST OF ICOD RECIPIENT COUNTRIES

ICOD proposes to categorize developing countries in its four areas of concentration as:

- a) Target Countries;
- b) Countries of Secondary Focus; and
- c) Non-recipients.

Target Countries are eligible to participate in regional and global projects and are the main focus of bilateral projects. Countries of Secondary Focus are eligible to participate in regional and global projects, but are not normally involved in bilateral projects. Countries in the non-recipient category would not normally participate in any ICOD projects, although limited participation in regional or global projects could be considered on a cost recovery basis or in special circumstances.

The following is a list of countries by category in the four areas of concentration:

#### 1. South Pacific

#### A. Target Countries

All South Pacific Forum countries excluding Australia New Zealand, and Nauru\* i.e. Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia,

Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, Western Samoa.

\* Nauru would not receive direct bilateral assistance because of its high per capita income.



## B. Non-recipients

Colonial Possessions (i.e. American Samoa, Guam, French Polynesia, New Caledonia)

#### 2. Caribbean

## A. 1) Target Countries

Central American States: Costa Rica,
 Nicaragua

Commonwealth Countries:
O.E.C.S. countries (independent): Grenada,
St. Vincent and The Grenadines, St. Lucia,
Dominica, Antigua and Barbuda, St. Kitts and
Nevis
Barbados
Jamaica
Guyana
Belize

# 2) Secondary Focus

- Commonwealth: Trinidad and Tobago.
- Commonwealth non-independent states: British Virgin Islands, Montserrat, Anguilla.
- Haiti and Dominican Republic

#### B. Non-recipients

- Central American States: Guatemala, Honduras, Panama.
- South American States (excluding Guyana)
- Cuba
- Colonies: French, Dutch, U.S.
- Bahamas

#### 3. South and West Indian Ocean

#### A. 1) <u>Target Countries</u>

- Island States: Sri Lanka, Maldives, Seychelles, Mauritius, Comoros, Madagascar.



## 2) Secondary Focus

- East African Coastal States: Mozambique, Tanzania, Kenya, Somalia.
- Gulf of Aden States: Djibouti, Yemen Arab Republic.

## B. Non-recipients

- Asian States: Burma, Bangladesh, India, Pakistan.
- Arab States: Oman, Democratic Yemen
- Ethiopia

#### 4. West Africa

#### A. 1) Target Countries

- Francophone Coastal Countries: Morocco, Mauritania, Senegal, Guinea, Ivory Coast, Togo, Benin, Cameroon, Congo.
- Island States: Sao Tome and Principe, Cape Verde Islands.

## 2) Secondary Focus

- Gambia, Sierra Leone, Liberia, Ghana, Nigeria
- Guinea-Bissau
- Equatorial Guinea
- Gabon

#### B. Non-recipients

- Zaire, Angola, Namibia, South Africa.

This list will be reviewed from time to time based on ICOD experience. It should be assumed that all states not specifically mentioned above would be in the non-recipient category.