File MS-5-2, Box 6, Folder 6 - In the forest : four piano compositions, Op. 12

Titania's waltz, Op. 12, no. 1 Weeping willows, Op. 12, no. 2 In the rushes, Op. 12, no. 3 Soughing pines, Op. 12, no. 4

Title and statement of responsibility area

Title proper

In the forest : four piano compositions, Op. 12

General material designation

  • Textual record

Parallel title

Other title information

Title statements of responsibility

Rubin Goldmark

Title notes

Level of description


Reference code

MS-5-2, Box 6, Folder 6

Edition area

Edition statement

Edition statement of responsibility

Class of material specific details area

Statement of scale (cartographic)

Statement of projection (cartographic)

Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

Statement of scale (architectural)

Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

Dates of creation area


  • 1909 (Distribution)
    Date of inscriptions from Rubin Goldmark to Ellen Ballon
  • 1908 (Creation)
    Goldmark, Rubin
    New York (N.Y.)
  • 1908 (Publication)
    Oliver Ditson Company
    Boston (Mass.)

Physical description area

Physical description

1 part (22 p.) ; 35 x 27 cm

Publisher's series area

Title proper of publisher's series

Parallel titles of publisher's series

Other title information of publisher's series

Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

Numbering within publisher's series

Note on publisher's series

Archival description area

Name of creator


Biographical history

Rubin Goldmark was an American composer, pianist, and teacher. Although his works were frequently performed during his lifetime, he is better known today as the teacher of Aaron Copland and George Gershwin. Born in New York City, he completed his undergraduate degree at City College in New York before moving to Austria to attend the Vienna Conservatory. He then returned to the United States whre he taught at the National Conservatory. At this time, he also studied piano with Antonin Dvorak and piano with Rafael Joseffy. Apart from a brief stay in Colorado Springs, when he was the director of the Colorado Conservatory of Music (1895-1901), he spent the rest of his life in New York.

Custodial history

Scope and content

File contains copies of each of the four compositions: "Titania's Waltz"'; "Weeping Willows"; "In the Rushes"; and "Soughing Pines." The work was dedicated to Paolo Gallico (1868–1955). Each piece bears an inscription to Ellen Ballon, Goldmark's student in 1909. The pieces were published by the Oliver Ditson Company in Boston in 1908.

Notes area

Physical condition

Immediate source of acquisition


Language of material

  • English
  • German

Script of material

Location of originals

Availability of other formats

Restrictions on access

Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication

Finding aids

Associated materials

Related materials


Alternative identifier(s)

Standard number area

Standard number

Access points

Subject access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Control area

Description record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules or conventions

Rules of Archival Description



Level of detail


Dates of creation, revision and deletion

Description revised by Rebecca Shaw on December 4, 2017.

Language of description

  • English

Script of description


Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related genres

Physical Location

  • Box: MS-5-2, Box 6